Often odd things

Are left or perhaps lost at the side of the road

How often do you see the odd boot? Fallen off a flat back open truck? New ones worn in and so the old ones can be thrown out?

Yes plenty of fast food packages … horrible, horrible ..why do we litter so easily, and not take our rubbish back home or even bin .. is it so hard? But it happens, it is not nice, but happens. But I was not really thinking here about rubbish but lost things

The other day , there was a smallish teddy – dark brown fur just off the turn of the roundabout. Well that is what it looked like as I took the turn. That was sad. If it was a teddy would some little person have found it hard to settle that night?

But lost. How? I am assuming lost from a travelling car but could have been from a family party crossing the road. Travelling car seems so much more sad, that bear would be really lost .. From the car who would know from where exactly the bear was starting its own journey? Unless it was thrown out on purpose .. An argument? An experiment?

But it might not have been a a toy bear .. it would not have been the first time I have mistaken the object … wrongly named the object ..

Last winter I announced that I had seen the most strange thing at the road side .. bulls horns . ( do you call those a set, a pair?) around this town, as an emblem of the football team it might just be possible – still strange of course but really how likely at the road side on the ring road?

Several days passed and I drove past the horns .. How come they were still there? Then one morning I realised I had been ‘seeing’ not horns but a road sign weighted down by sand bags ! How had I misread those ? But once I realised what it really was I had seen .. I could not then unsee it to make it back to the horns .. Something about losing the mystery , the imaginative was sad.

That was last year then a couple of days ago, a folding chair. Unmistakably a chair.
Well I expect this was left on purpose as it was set out in the lay by right by the bins .. But strange for it to be left opened out?
Driving past the layby and glance I got, it looked for all the world that a picnic was expected!

More rubbish news another time

Leave a Reply

