Lost treasures 

found and lost again. This car park is a hunting ground, not intentionally but the glittering objects attract against the grey tarmac . Once seen , I have  photographed, captured and as a piece of ‘rubbish’ collected and kept this treasure. The photography element has lapsed since my camera has been unreliable, but this unintentional hunting and collecting still survives. 

Recent captures have been a small cylinder shape, metal, half centimetre long, little fingernail wide, shiny in the evening light against the grey. I pocketed this.   A few days later waiting on station platform , the little metal find in my pocket I took it to look again. After turning it between my fingers a few times, it slipped and fell. It bounced and then rolled between the grill of a drainage gulley. Lost again. 
The next item, very close to the pavement leading to the main building. Going home I stepped off the pavement and thought I saw a really bright spot on the ground. Next step nothing. I was already late so walked on. But that shaft of white light was still in the memory of my eye. I went back, honestly did not expect to see it again, but found the jewel. 

Real treasure! 

A very small glass jewel. Pointed at the bottom, cut with edges to get a diamond like light reflection. Yes real treasure a little decoration fallen from a piece of jewelery. I put it in the pocket , wondering if someone had noticed it missing from a ring or brooch?  Walking to the car feeling  the shape, the small pointy end sharp on the finger tip. 

I am certain it was glass, but likely belonged to someone. I would turn it it to reception the next day. 

The next day. It had gone. No longer in the pocket. No longer anywhere visible. Nothing to report. 

Such is the beginning of story, but I hadn’t seen the genie with the rubbing or made a wish under my breath . Will I recognise the effect of holding this jewel when I meet it at some later date, if the story lines were to resolve?  

I think we rarely realise the beauty of the day to day treasure we have around us until it is passed, perhaps reminding myself of that is the legacy of the find. 

Leave a Reply

